I miss my Mom’s hugs today

Jon Acton
4 min readOct 13, 2022

I Miss my Mom’s hugs today

I write this blog with mixed emotions. Today is October 12th, 2022 which represents my wife and I’s 8th wedding anniversary. I doubt our marriage is significantly different from other couples. We have celebrated the highest of highs, and wondered if we would survive the lowest of lows. We continue to live out loud the vows for richer or poorer and in sickness and health. Our marriage theme song is a medley of circus music, Michael Buble’ love ballads and the theme from Jaws. Constantly on loop.

Tomorrow, October 13th is a different story. It represents the 17th anniversary of the passing of my Mom from non-smoking lung cancer. Writing that sentence after all this time is still surreal. I live in a constant mental haze of lost details and memories while vividly recalling her funeral. I am not sure why this year seems so difficult. I can’t think of any hidden messages or significant signs from year 17. However, this year, this anniversary of her passing seems much more difficult than in prior years.

Reflecting on why this year seems more difficult, I believe it is the neverending bond between a child and their mother. As kids, when we scrape our knees and sniffle our sniffles, we want our Moms. As we grow older, the situations that make life difficult increase in severity and complexity, but the desire to reach out for the comforting words and embraces that only Mom’s can provide continues. Personally, the last three years have been very difficult and have left me a little skittish…

--

--

Jon Acton

Husband, Father, Former School Superintendent, National Blue Ribbon School Principal, Teacher, Coach, Author in progress